News

International Women's Day

February 26, 2021
Jennifer Robinson

On March 8 Canada recognizes International Women’s Day, celebrating the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women and girls, and raising awareness of the work left to be done. 

Zero Discrimination Day

February 26, 2021
Jennifer Robinson

On March 1, the United Nations recognizes Zero Discrimination Day, promoting equality before the law. The UN encourages citizens to speak out so that everyone has equal opportunity to achieve their dreams. This year the theme coincides with discrimination faced by women and girls in all their diversity.

 

Children’s Books

Pandemic Picks for Families

February 25, 2021
Patricia Richard

Picture book authors and illustrators amaze me -- in very few pages and with minimal words they are able to address subjects that are real, are powerful and often the messages contained in them are so helpful for parents, caregivers and teachers trying to help their children understand. As this pandemic sets in to its second year I am thrilled that there are some picture books that capture the way the world is for us today.

Staff Pick: The Exiles

February 25, 2021
Catherine

Kristin recently enjoyed The Exiles by Christina Baker Kline, a sweeping historical novel set during the early days of Australia's settlement by the English. Here is her review:

Staff Pick: The Captive

February 18, 2021
Catherine

Julie recently enjoyed The Captive by Fiona King Foster, a gripping, tightly written country noir for fans of Winter's Bone, The Kept, and The Donnellys Must Die. Here is her review:

Staff Pick: The Woman Outside My Door

February 11, 2021
Catherine

Marg recently enjoyed The Woman Outside My Door, a creepy, fast-paced domestic thriller from debut author Rachel Ryan. Here is her review:

Staff Pick: Lupe Wong Won't Dance

February 4, 2021
Catherine

Karen recently enjoyed by Lupe Wong Won’t Dance by Donna Barba Higuera, a funny children's story that any reader will get a kick out of.

What I've Been Reading

February 4, 2021
Catherine

Since I spend a lot of time reading, I often come across books that I would like to talk about in this column, but for whatever reason the opportunity just doesn't present itself. With that being said, the following are ten mini reviews for ten completely random books. There are some hits, and some misses, and hopefully one or two will pique your interest.

Black History Month

February 4, 2021
Jennifer Robinson

This month we are celebrating the many achievements and contributions made by Black Canadians who have helped shape Canada into the culturally diverse and compassionate place it is today. Often overlooked is the fact the Black Canadians were enslaved here too. Black History Month is an opportunity for the majority of Canadians to learn about the experiences of Black Canadians in our society and the vital role this community has played throughout our shared history.  

 

Try a flashback!

February 1, 2021
Coleen McFarlane

Admittedly missing my dose of apocalyptic zombie-based television shows, I have delved into books of the same genre. I tried a ‘flashback’ novel from 2010 called Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry, a young adult novel in a four-book series.