News

Staff Picks: By Chance Alone

March 14, 2019
Catherine

Julie Wendland, Readers' Services Coordinator, recently enjoyed By Chance Alone by Max Eisen, a moving memoir that made it on to the Canada Reads 2019 shortlist. Here is her review:

Staff Picks: My Lovely Wife

March 6, 2019
Catherine

Fans of Paula Hawkins, Clare Mackintosh or Ruth Ware should read ahead for Marg Wood's review of My Lovely Wife, a novel of psychological suspense that will be arriving at the library soon:

The soon to be released debut novel My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing may just be the guilty reading please of 2019! It is an extremely dark, twisted and compulsively readable tale of the seemingly perfect couple next door who are anything but perfect.

Staff Picks: Nightfall Berlin

February 28, 2019
Catherine

Andree recently enjoyed Nightfall Berlin by Jack Grimwood, which she described as "a smartly written novel that moves at break-neck speed." Read her review here:

Staff Picks: Homes

February 20, 2019
Catherine

Kelly recently read Homes: A Refugee Story, written by 15-year-old Abu Bakr al Rabeeah as he recounts what it was like to spend his childhood in the middle of a civil war. Read her review here:

Staff Picks: The Girl From Blind River

February 6, 2019
Catherine

Jennifer recently enjoyed The Girl from Blind River by Gale Massey, a book she describes as gritty, poetic and suspenseful. Read her review below. 

Staff Picks: My Sister, the Serial Killer

January 22, 2019
Catherine

Gillian recently enjoyed My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite, a satirical thriller set in Nigeria. Here is her review:

Staff Picks: Vicious Cycle

December 17, 2018
Catherine

Here's Jackie's review of Vicious Cycle by Terri Blackstock, which can be reserved at your branch of the County Libraries:

Staff Picks: My Oxford Year

November 8, 2018
Catherine

Kristin, a member of the library's Relief team, recently enjoyed My Oxford Year by Julia Whelan, which she describes as "a sweet debut novel of self-discovery and first love."

Staff Picks: The Tattooist of Auschwitz

October 25, 2018
Catherine

Marg Wood recently enjoyed the recent bestseller The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris, which she describes as a "truly powerful, heartwrenching story of endurance." Here is her review:

Staff Picks: The Other Woman

October 17, 2018
Catherine

Marg is big into thrillers. One of her recent favorites is The Other Woman by Sandie Jones, a fast-paced and twisty domestic thriller. Here is here review: