News

Staff Pick: Through the Garden

April 9, 2021
Catherine

Kelly recently enjoyed Writer's Trust finalist Through the Garden. It's a moving memoir about poet Lorna Crozier's long relationship with fellow poet Patrick Lane. Here is Kelly's review:

Staff Picks: Apple in the Middle

April 1, 2021
Catherine

Kristin recently enjoyed Apple in the Middle by Dawn Quigley, a debut Young Adult novel that takes on an adolescent's quest for identity. Here's Kristin's review:

Staff Picks: The Library of Legends

March 24, 2021
Catherine

Jennifer recently enjoyed The Library of Legends by Janie Chang, one of the ten titles in contention for the 2021 OLA Evergreen Award. Check out her review:

In this charming tale of hope amidst war, Chang interweaves historical accounts of the Sino-Japanese war (the Asian theatre of war in WWII) with magical realism. She blends the wartime exodus of Chinese university students safeguarding literary treasures with the mythical departure of legendary deities. The story underscores how the war changes China forever.

Staff Pick: Band of Sisters

March 17, 2021
Catherine

Karen S recently enjoyed Band of Sisters by Lauren Willig, a brand new novel of historical fiction set against the British home front circa March 1918. Here is her review:

In the final year of World War I, a group of Smith College alumni known as the Smith College Relief Unit went to France to give aid to the remaining residents of destroyed French villages near the front line. Miraculously, every member of the unit made it home safe, both in life and in Lauren Willig’s latest historical novel.

Staff Picks: A New Day

March 11, 2021
Catherine

Coleen recently enjoyed A New Day by Brad Meltzer and Dan Santat, a funny children's book about the days of the week. Here is her review:

Colourful cartoon-like appeal abounds in the picture book A New Day, which features anthropomorphic days of the week having their own audition-style competition. Sunday feels underappreciated and suddenly quits, leaving the other days of the week to take on the task of trying to replace her.

Staff Picks: The Nature of Fragile Things

March 1, 2021
Catherine

Marg recently enjoyed The Nature of Fragile Things by Susan Meissner, a "electrifying, atmospheric" historical novel set in early 20th Century San Francisco. Here is her review:

I have been a fan of Susan Meissner’s since I read The Fall of Marigolds several years ago and I have been anticipating reading her latest offering The Nature of Fragile Things for some time now, needless to say I was not disappointed.  

Staff Pick: The Exiles

February 25, 2021
Catherine

Kristin recently enjoyed The Exiles by Christina Baker Kline, a sweeping historical novel set during the early days of Australia's settlement by the English. Here is her review:

Staff Pick: The Captive

February 18, 2021
Catherine

Julie recently enjoyed The Captive by Fiona King Foster, a gripping, tightly written country noir for fans of Winter's Bone, The Kept, and The Donnellys Must Die. Here is her review:

Staff Pick: The Woman Outside My Door

February 11, 2021
Catherine

Marg recently enjoyed The Woman Outside My Door, a creepy, fast-paced domestic thriller from debut author Rachel Ryan. Here is her review:

Staff Pick: Lupe Wong Won't Dance

February 4, 2021
Catherine

Karen recently enjoyed by Lupe Wong Won’t Dance by Donna Barba Higuera, a funny children's story that any reader will get a kick out of.