News

Phased Library Reopening

September 1, 2020
Catherine

We're pleased to announce that on August 19th, County Council approved the Library's Reopening Plan.

The initial reopening plan has select branches of the County of Lennox & Addington Libraries reopening to the public beginning September 1st and will be delivered over several phases:

 

Phase 1 (Week of September 1st)

• Open Amherstview and Napanee fully to the public for limited hours five days per week

• Bath, Tamworth and Yarker continue to offer curbside pickup, expanded to two shifts/eight hours each per week

Back to School Books

August 24, 2020
Kate Wilson

Back to school season isn’t the same this year.  With these new changes comes a mix of emotions. I've pulled together a great list of reads to help you weather the emotional rollercoaster.  

 

Staycation "Booking"

August 5, 2020
Coleen McFarlane

With the long days of summer upon us, you may be in need of a break to step away from your everyday routine. A fun “staycation” activity is to enjoy a themed read linked to a tourist draw you can find locally. 

Staff Picks: The Skin We're In

August 5, 2020
Catherine

Jennifer recently read The Skin We're In by Desmond Cole, a bestselling non-fiction title that documents examples of anti-black racism in Canada. Here is her review:

Staff Picks: Survivor Song

August 5, 2020
Catherine

Coleen recently read Survivor Song by Paul Tremblay, a fast paced thriller set amid an apocalyptic rabies outbreak. Here is her review:

Cottage Escapes

July 20, 2020
Coleen McFarlane

Another summer escape is the cottage – whether you are heading up to yours or simply dreaming of owning one (especially now), we have helpful books on keeping your cottage looking great, or fiction that will help you dream of that day.

Canadiana Cottage

Adventures in East Asia

July 17, 2020
Catherine

If my reading list is any indication, 2020 must be the year that East Asia-set books flooded the Western market. Whether literary fiction, historical fiction, fantasy or mystery, there is no shortage of compelling new novels set in this vast, diverse region. Some are new translations while others are English originals, but they will all suit armchair travelers desperate to immerse themselves in new cultures. 

Staff Picks: Truths I Never Told You

July 17, 2020
Catherine

Marg recently enjoyed Truths I Never Told You, a novel by Kelly Rimmer that is perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain. Here is Marg's review:

Dog Days of Summer

July 10, 2020
Coleen McFarlane

The phrase "dog days of summer" is actually a reference to the fact that, during this time, the Sun occupies the same region of the sky as Sirius, the brightest star visible from any part of Earth and part of the constellation Canis Major, the Greater Dog. This is why Sirius is sometimes called the Dog Star.

Staff Picks: One Good Reason

July 10, 2020
Catherine

Julie, our Readers' Services Coordinator, recently enjoyed One Good Reason: a Memoir of Addiction and Recovery, Music and Love, a devastating yet hopeful memoir by Great Big Sea founder Sean McCann. Here is her review: