News

Staff Pick: The Captive

February 18, 2021
Catherine

Julie recently enjoyed The Captive by Fiona King Foster, a gripping, tightly written country noir for fans of Winter's Bone, The Kept, and The Donnellys Must Die. Here is her review:

Staff Pick: The Woman Outside My Door

February 11, 2021
Catherine

Marg recently enjoyed The Woman Outside My Door, a creepy, fast-paced domestic thriller from debut author Rachel Ryan. Here is her review:

Staff Pick: Lupe Wong Won't Dance

February 4, 2021
Catherine

Karen recently enjoyed by Lupe Wong Won’t Dance by Donna Barba Higuera, a funny children's story that any reader will get a kick out of.

Staff Pick: The Other Windsor Girl

January 27, 2021
Catherine

Kristin recently enjoyed The Other Windsor Girl by Georgie Blalock, a juicy novel of historical fiction that is evocative of The Crown. Here is her review:

Staff Pick: Together, Apart

January 22, 2021
Catherine

Chantell McMahon recently enjoyed Together, Apart written by several popular YA authors, including Erin A. Craig, Auriane Desombre, Erin Hahn, and Bill Konigsberg. Here is her review:

Staff Pick: Closer to Nowhere

January 15, 2021
Catherine

Patricia recently enjoyed Closer to Nowhere by Ellen Hopkins, a powerful novel about two cousins aimed at middle grade readers. Here is her review:

Closer to Nowhere by Ellen Hopkins is a powerful middle grade novel that explores timeless topics like bullying, mental illness, crime, family angst and grief. The books is written in verse from the perspectives of Hannah and Cal. They are cousins forced to live together and they have nothing in common…or do they?

Staff Picks: Barry Squires: Full Tilt

January 7, 2021
Catherine

Marg recently enjoyed Barry Squires: Full Tilt by Heather Smith, a Young Adult novel that has been described as "Derry Girls meets Billy Elliot with an East coast twist." Here is here review:

When I started reading Barry Squires: Full Tilt I thought it would be a lighthearted, rollicking romp through the bingo halls and streets of St. John’s, Newfoundland, it was indeed that but so much more.

Staff Picks: Still Here

December 21, 2020
Catherine

Andree, Relief Librarian, recently enjoyed Still Here by Amy Stuart, one of Canada's top thriller writers. Here is her review:

Staff Picks: Ghost's Journey

December 18, 2020
Catherine

Coleen recently enjoyed Ghost's Journey, a sweet children's book about the true story of a refugee couple from Indonesia as told by their cat. Here is her review:

Love, a cat and a good cause – triple the goodness to this new juvenile pick by Robin Stevenson: Ghost’s Journey: A Refugee Story.

Staff Picks: The Brilliant Life of Eudora Honeysett

November 24, 2020
Catherine

Marg recently enjoyed The Brilliant Life of Eudora Honeysett by Annie Lyon, a "charming, heart wrenching story" that she considers one her favourite books of the year. Here is her review:

Once in a while a special book comes along that tugs at ones heartstrings, The Brilliant Life of Eudora Honeysett by Annie Lyons was that book for me. This charming, heart wrenching story is one that I came across at just the right time for me and is one I will not soon forget.