Tourism
Share This PageEmail This Page
PrintRSS

museum_building_exterior_l1

Municipal
Economic Development
 Where is L & A ?
CyclingDiningExploringGeo Caching Motor CyclingShoppingCounty Trails
Museums | Print |

From the times of the United Empire Loyalists through to when Sir John A. Macdonald roamed the halls of Napanee's proudest historical homes, Lennox & Addington County rich and storied history.  Discover the thousands of relevant artefacts from earlier time periods are found in several of museums in L&A.

97 Thomas Street East, Napanee [Map]

The Lennox & Addington County Museum and Archives provides insights into everyday life from the late eighteenth through the twentieth century and focuses particularly on telling the story of Lennox and Addington County. The museum, an 1864 limestone building, was, until 1971, the county jail. Now restored, the museum's continuing exhibits highlight local history from paleolithic times to the present. The artifacts collection contains approximately 10,000 items including furniture, clothing, toys, glass, ceramics, tools and household goods. A variety of educational programs, workshops and periodic theme exhibits are also presented. The Museum, which is adjacent to the county's stately limestone Courthouse, also houses a research library and extensive local archives documenting county history, as well as genealogical files for those who want to find their personal connection to the past. Researchers for the museum function visit the museum and county community to search for family links. For more information, please click here.

museums2nd.jpg

The Lennox & Addington E-History Project showcases objects in museum collections in Lennox & Addington County. Invitations were extended to all museums in Lennox & Addington to share their collections through Lennox & Addington’s  E-History.  Each contribution from a participating museum is credited. All other articles highlight the collections at the Lennox & Addington County Museum & Archives, and the Allan Macpherson House.

Lennox & Addington’s E-History is a starting point for another look at Lennox & Addington’s historical story.   Based on the premise that objects relating to a geographic area can reveal the historical story of that area,  Lennox & Addington’s E-History discusses each object in its historical context and provides links to details of the object, as well as, photographic and written sources.  Object based history is a starting-point for a multi-disciplinary study of local history that interweaves with regional and national history.  This approach gives us a greater appreciation of the role of material objects in human activity, the people who used them, the communities, customs and traditions they evolved.

For more information, please visit the following links:

Lennox & Addington E-History Project
Teacher Resources

e-history1

180 Elizabeth St., Napanee [Map]

Built before 1830, the Allan Macpherson House remains a fine example of a late phase of Georgian architecture. It was constructed by Allan Macpherson, who in approximately 1812, had leased the mills on the opposite side of the Napanee River. His new dwelling was near his other principal business enterprise, a general store on Dundas Street. Napanee's first postmaster and an active magistrate, Mr. Macpherson was a long standing citizen of the community. In 1849 he moved to Kingston and his house was taken over by his son Donald, where it remained in the family until 1896. Among the distinguished guests were Bishop John Strachan and Sir John A MacDonald. For more information, please visit www.macphersonhouse.ca.

.

macpherson

434 Main Street, Bath

Construction of the Old Town Hall was completed in 1861.  The Tuscan Portico is patterned after Roman buildings with civic or judicial functions. The building was known as the Bath Town Hall until 1970.  It was completely restored in the early 1980's and is a designated historical property under the Heritage Act.

The Building is now owned and operated by the Fairfield-Gutzeit Society is the home of the Bath Museum of Loyalist Township.  The museum features United Empire Loyalist, WW1 and WW2 memorabilia and Native artifacts dating back to the 1600's.  For more information, please visit www.loyalisttownship.ca/discover-bathmuseum.

bath.jpg

100 Bridge Street, Odessa [Map]

Built in 1856 this historic mill is a must see when visiting Odessa. The mill combined woolen factory, grist, planning and saw milling operations. It has been restored as a fully operational water-powered mill and park site. For more information, please visit www.loyalisttownship.ca/discover-babcockmill.

babcock

Cloyne [Map]

As you plan your vacation in the County of Lennox and Addington, in the midst of the beautiful Land o' Lakes, be sure to include a visit to the Pioneer Museum in Cloyne. Operated by the Cloyne and District Historical Society, the Museum is home to over 1,000 artifacts that illustrate the history of the area, from its beginnings in the lumbering industry of the 1850's, through the ups and downs of the mining booms, to the long-held importance of tourism. Also included in the collection are clothing and household items from pioneer families, as well as books, photos, and documents that demonstrate their way of life. A growing collection of Bon Echo artifacts, including a 1920 sketch by Merrill Denison, will fascinate the many Lake Mazinaw /Bon Echo Inn fans out there. The reconstruction of a section of the O'Donnell Road schoolhouse, dating from the 1850's, is equally fascinating. The Museum collection grows and changes almost daily, so even if you have visited before, it's well worth coming back.

 

cloynepioneermuseum

341 Main St., Bath [Map]

William and Benjamin Fairfield purchased Lot 11, Con 1 in Ernestown from the original Loyalist grantee, George McGinnis, in 1793. They built what is now known as the Fairfield-Gutzeit House in 1796. Both brothers were prominent in the community, serving as members of the Legislative Assembly. William was a magistrate and a commissioner of roads, and Benjamin was a member of the Court of Quarter Session and a businessman with special interests in shipping.  The Fairfield-Gutzeit is a Georgian Style home; one of the first dwellings built in Ontario on the shores of Lake Ontario in the historic village of Bath. The campus consists of a large waterfront property that is owned and cared for by the charitable non-profit Fairfield/Gutzeit Society. This beautiful example of early Canada is fully furnished in the Victorian era with the gardens being cared for by the Bath Gardening Club. Many cultural and historic programs are offered for all age groups by the Society in conjunction with the Royal Ontario Museum. The main house is open for tours from the middle of June until Labour Day. For more information, please visit www.villageofbath.com.

 

fair-g

4574 Loyalist Parkway, Amherstview

Loyalist William Fairfield settled in Lennox & Addington in 1784 and built the Fairfield House in 1793 to strongly reflect his New England background.  In 1959, after six generations of family occupancy, the Fairfield House became the property of the Province of Ontario, which entrusted it to the St. Lawrence Parks Commission.  The building is one of several wood frame houses that remain in L&A from the Loyalist era. In 2000, the Fairfield House was named by the Canada Royal Architectural Institute to be one of the 250 best examples of Canadian Architecture over the last 1,000 years.

For more information, please visit www.LoyalistTownship.ca/Discover-ProfileAmherstview.

 

fairfield.jpg

54 Park Road, Adolphustown [Map]

U.E.L. Heritage Centre & Park was established in 1956, to sustain the work of a group of community volunteers led my Adelaide Mowbray McLaughlin. Mrs. McLaughlin used her influence as the wife of Samuel McLaughlin, the major automobile manufacturer in Canada and later, President of General Motors Canada, to convince the Province to create a lasting memorial to the Loyalist founders of Ontario. Today the 72-acre heritage property, which includes an original Loyalist landing site, refugee camp site, and burial ground, is owned by the United Empire Loyalists’ Association of Canada, Bay of Quinte Branch, and operated by a volunteer-run registered charity, the U.E.L. Heritage Centre & Park. The site, Greater Napanee’s largest tourism attraction, also includes a recreational campground, a beach and a picnic area. Ideally situated on Adolphus Reach of the Bay of Quinte, it is perfect for simple family vacations or large family res. For more information, please visit www.uel.ca.

 

park

138 Robinson Street, Napanee [Map]

Lennox & Addington’s newest museum showcases a wide array of Canadian-made pianos.  Located in the historic Stevenson House in Napanee, the museum celebrates the Canadian piano and organ industries of the 1800’s and the early decades of the 1900’s.  This hands-on museum will allow the public to hear and experience what it was like to play on a piano or organ from the past two centuries. Those who enjoy fine furniture will marvel at the craftsmanship of instruments built in Canada and elsewhere. The museum is also home to organs, harpsichords, antique gramophones, gramophone records, books, recordings, photographs and other resource material.  There is something for all to enjoy including the house itself which was built in 1859 for John Stevenson who once owned the piano factory in Kingston.  For more information, please visit www.canadianpianos.ca.

 

canadianpianomuseum.jpg

341 Main St., Bath [Map]

Experience early 19th Century Bath on the grounds of the 1796 Fairfield-Gutzeit House. The Lafarge War of 1812 Discovery Centre tells the story of early life in Ernestown (present-day Bath) and the American attack on the Village and the flight of the HMS Royal George. For more information, visit flightoftheroyalgeorge.ca.

 

park

 

26dundasstreetwest
Zoning Commercial
Sale/Lease
Sale
Building Size
7,800 Square Feet
Price
$375,000
 
Large commercial building available for lease in Downtown Napanee.  Food and pharmacy restrictions apply. 1 Shipping Door, 1 truck level shipping door. 43 paved asphalt surface parking spaces.
Realtor

Kamila Zbikowska
Arcturus Realty
416-862-6100

More info
Click Here
 

© 2014 L & A Tourism
County of Lennox & Addington
97 Thomas Street East
Napanee, ON K7R 4B9
CANADA
tourism@lennox-addington.on.ca
T: 613.354.4883
F: 613.354.3112