4574 Loyalist Parkway, Amherstview
Loyalist William Fairfield settled in Lennox & Addington in 1784 and built the Fairfield House in 1793 to strongly reflect his New England background. In 1959, after six generations of family occupancy, the Fairfield House became the property of the Province of Ontario, which entrusted it to the St. Lawrence Parks Commission. The building is one of several wood frame houses that remain in L&A from the Loyalist era. In 2000, the Fairfield House was named by the Canada Royal Architectural Institute to be one of the 250 best examples of Canadian Architecture over the last 1,000 years.
For more information, please visit www.LoyalistTownship.ca/Discover-ProfileAmherstview.